Acetylcholine as neurotransmitter – Physiology MCQ

Which of the following neurons do not have acetylcholine as the neurotransmitter?
A. Preganglionic sympathetic neurons
B. Postganglionic sympathetic neurons
C. Preganglionic parasympathetic neurons
D. Neurons innervating sweat glands

Correct answer: B. Postganglionic sympathetic neurons


  • Preganglionic neurons
    • Sympathetic – acetylcholine
    • Parasympathetic – acetylcholine
  • Postganglionic neurons
    • Sympathetic – norepinephrine
    • Parasympathetic – acetylcholine
  • Exception: In sympathetic neurons innervating eccrine sweat glands, acetylcholine is the neurotransmitter.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Comments will be displayed only after moderation.