Classification of Nontuberculous Mycobacteria – Microbiology MCQ

All of the following are non photochromogens except?
A. Mycobacterium ulcerans
B. Mycobacterium xenopi
C. Mycobacterium avium
D. Mycobacterium marinum

Correct answer : D. Mycobacterium marinum

Classification of non tuberculous mycobacteria:

  • Photochromogens – produce pigment when exposed to light. eg: M. kansasii, M. marinum.
  • Scotochromogens – produce pigment in the dark. eg: M. scrofulaceum, M. gordonae.
  • Non photochromogens – do not produce pigment even when exposed to light. eg: M. ulcerans, M. xenopi, M. avium.
  • Rapid growers – growth within seven days. eg: M. fortuitum, M. chelonae.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Comments will be displayed only after moderation.

Read previous post:
pathology mcq
Rupture of Charcot Bouchard aneurysm – Pathology MCQ

Rupture of Charcot Bouchard aneurysm usually causes? A. Extradural haemorrhage B. Subdural haemorrhage C. Subarachnoid haemorrhage D. Intracerebral haemorrhage