Contents of esophageal hiatus

Oesophageal hiatus is at T10 vertebral level. Structures passing through esophageal hiatus are:

  1. Oesophagus
  2. Oesophageal branches of left gastric artery and vein
  3. Left and right vagus nerves
  4. Lymphatics
  5. Phreno oesophageal ligament

Q – AIIMS Nov 11, AIIMS Nov 06

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Comments will be displayed only after moderation.

Read previous post:
Why should 5% dextrose be avoided in head injury patients?

5% dextrose is a free water solution. Dextrose gets metabolised and plasma osmolality is decreased. This increases the brain oedema...