Gartland's classification of supracondylar fractures in children

Gartland classified supracondylar fractures into 3 types. They are:

  • Type I – Undisplaced
  • Type II – Displaced, but posterior cortex is intact
  • Type III – Displaced but posterior cortex is not intact. The distal fragment may be displaced in one of the 2 possible ways
    • Posteromedial
    • Posterolateral

Nerve injuries and other complications are more common in type III supracondylar fractures.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Comments will be displayed only after moderation.

Read previous post:
Cough reflex (mechanism of cough)

Cough is a protective mechanism to protect the airways from harmful irritants. The reflex arc in a cough reflex include...