Tear film – Layers and formation

Tear film is composed of 3 layers. They are:
  • Mucinous layer
    • Innermost layer
    • Mucin is secreted by conjunctival goblet cells and glands of Manz
    • It transforms the corneal surface from hydrophobic to hydrophilic
  • Aqueous layer
    • Middle layer
    • Secreted by the main and accessory lacrimal glands
  • Lipid layer
    • Outermost layer
    • Secreted by meibomian glands
    • Prevents evaporation of water
    • Lubricates the eyelids

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Comments will be displayed only after moderation.

Read previous post:
Obstetrics & Gynaecology – MCQ 36 – Manning scoring system of biophysical profile

In the Manning scoring system of biophysical profile for fetal monitoring, which parameter is not included a) Fetal tone b)...